Jarter Jargon

An Open Letter To Marquette

Posted on: December 28, 2012

With graduation firmly under my belt, it’s time to venture out into the real world. Being an adult started on the 16th, and I haven’t looked back since. I can say I look at things differently. I find myself trying to take in the world around me more. Why? I don’t know. Maybe graduation has instilled a sense of finite time to do what I want, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that everything I experience from here on out requires deep reflection to find the meaning behind it. It just means I have new responsibilities but also new opportunities, and it’s my job to recognize and go after those opportunities.

As for my time spent at Marquette, it’s strange to think it’s already over. It was in the blink of an eye that I found myself no longer a freshman but waiting for my turn to cross the stage, shake hands, and exit the stage a new man. I can’t thank Marquette enough for everything it has given me. The opportunities, the experiences, the people I have met truly have made me feel that I have received a top-notch education from the greatest school out there. Sure my mom would have liked it if I went to a university that had a football team, but I wouldn’t have traded what I did have at Marquette for the world.

People come and go in and out of our lives. It’s a fact. The friends and faculty I have met during my time in college, though, will stick with me for a lifetime. Many students spend their 4 years getting an education. Personally, I spent my time educating myself not only in the field of advertising and marketing, but in the field of life.

When I considered attending Marquette, I did what any potential student does: research. I explored every nook and cranny of this university to make sure that I was making the right choice. Putting four years of my life into the hands and expertise of others is a very daunting decision. However the one thing that stood out to me is the overall theme of “Be the Difference.” To me, that is a lifestyle that speaks volumes of this university. The phrase mentions nothing about classes, nothing about campus life, just “Be the Difference” as an open invitation for us to find what it means to us personally. College is undoubtedly a time for young adults to find out who they are. That, coupled with the sole purpose of a university in being the difference and creating a positive change in the world, is the perfect equation. It’s all about how each individual student can spend their time here and, again, be the difference. What can they do personally as they develop here at Marquette that will reflect upon the world?

Even though I didn’t meet my wife at the Square Dance, which is apparently the #1 place to find that special someone, I wasn’t even halfway through the first semester of my freshman year, and I already knew that I was right where I was supposed to be and one day, I would be more than proud to tell people exactly where I had graduated from. Job interviews, off-hand conversations, “Where did you go to school?” I knew after being on this campus and interacting with students and faculty that with the biggest smile on my face and the biggest love in my heart, my answer would and always will be, “Marquette.” The caliber of students that graduate, and have graduated, from this university gives me faith that I am not the only one who feels this way.

Marquette University prepares its students for the real world. Cura Personalis, “care for the entire person.” The real world is a lot more than a job and an education to get you that job. The real world is daily interactions with the human race. Some people may take it for granted, but when I walked across the stage at graduation, I realized just how unique and grand my time at Marquette was been and how well it has and will continue to serve me,  a whole person.

So, I guess this is the part where I say something about going off and “doing what I love and love what I’m doing,” but to me, that leaves a bit too much wiggle room. So here is what I plan on doing: “Make a life, not a living.” I have said it in an earlier blog post, but right now, it’s the perfect start to my new adventures now that I have left such an outstanding university. Marquette has prepared me, one, to be fully functional in my area of study, and two, to take what I have learned and apply it to my own life. Not only did I learn and study to make my way into the world of advertising and marketing, I learned how to be the very difference Marquette hopes for all of us to be. My time at Marquette proved to be challenging, enriching, and life-changing. I can honestly say I would not be as proud as I am today to call a university my alma mater if I had not attended Marquette. I plan on making a life, not a living, I hope to continue to grow as a person, and as Saint Ignatius told the Jesuits, I plan on going forth and setting the world on fire.

Thank you Marquette. I can’t express how much my time here means to me.

 

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

