Jarter Jargon

Make a Life, Not a Living

Posted on: November 8, 2012

Picture your dream job. Are you currently working that dream job?

As graduation draws ever closer and my search of a job continues grinding along, I’ve really had to take the time to stop and think about my future. I know I’ve said this before, but I also know that I most likely won’t graduate into my dream job. However, it might not be all that bad.

What is life? I’m not going to copy and paste some Webster definition (I mean, come one, that’s well overplayed), but I will tell you that it’s a big ball of experiences. That’s it! Everything we do, everyone we interact with shapes us into who we are today. Right now. Classes, weekends, new friends, old friends, lost friends, internships, they’re all experiences. So instead of complaining about your job or your long day, just remember that it’s an experience, and it’s happening for a reason.

Everyone says love what you do, do what you love. I guess that’s a pretty good mantra, but I think “Make a life, not a living” seems to be more fitting for me right now. Of course we work to provide for ourselves and our family, but what good is it if you don’t make anything out of what you do?

Some people are destined for greatness. Why not pursue greatness? We all have the capability to do the best we can at what we are best at, so why not do it? I can personally say that my own decisions and interactions in life have led me to, well, a great life thus far. If you want something, you have to go after it. I want to be great. I will do everything I can to be so.

So while I plan on making a living to keep a roof over my head, clothes on my back, and food on the table, I also plan on making a life, and I plan on doing my very best to make the most out of that life.

3 Responses to "Make a Life, Not a Living"

Love this! Couldn’t agree more.

[…] wiggle room. So here is what I plan on doing: “Make a life, not a living.” I have said it in an earlier blog post, but right now, it’s the perfect start to my new adventures now that I have left such an […]

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

