Jarter Jargon

The Trials and Tribulations of Job Searches

Posted on: October 2, 2012

So here I am. It’s almost 1 a.m. in Milwaukee, and I have been searching and applying for jobs since 10 p.m. This is a reoccurring theme in my life lately.

With graduation looming in the (scarily) near future, job applications become a blur. I honestly take time to step back and refocus on the goal, and in all actuality, everyone’s goal in life: Do what I love and love what I do.

It’s as simple as that. Of course I’m not going to have the ultimate dream job right out of college, but it’s still in the back of my mind. What is in the forefront is something I’ve slowly started to seriously consider. As a college grad, it can be daunting to get your foot in the door and get that first job. For me, it’s a matter of finally getting to this point.

Now before I go on, I already know that once I get a job, I’ll think, “Man, I wish I was still in college,” but all I can think of right now is, “Well college is fun, but I can’t wait to get out there and work towards something I am passionate for.” I am a marketable soon-to-be-graduate. I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but I’ve seen how some students coast through their four years and freak out when they can’t find a job they enjoy.

I’ve put in my hard work, my long hours, and I hate to admit it, but I’ve also kissed some asses here and there. We all have. The point I’m getting at is that as a soon-to-be-grad, the job search is a time consuming, carpal tunnel-inducing, and exhausting, but I also understand that it’s a rite of passage we all have to go through.

I’m just waiting for someone to give me the chance to bat.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

