Jarter Jargon

Video

My Disconnected Labor Day Weekend

Posted on: September 4, 2012

A weekend in Chicago turned into a technological epiphany. I deleted my Facebook, I didn’t tweet, I didn’t shoot a picture with Instagram, and all in all, the only people I kept in contact with were my parents via sparse texts (also a handful of emails related to work). And to be completely honest, it was awesomely refreshing.

Lately, I’ve been wondering where the limit is for social media. When do we stop? With the countless hours of YouTube videos posted each minute, all the active members on Facebook, and the millions of tweets sent out each day, how do we stay connected to who and what we want?

I am currently following 491 people on Twitter. Do I see what every one of them are saying? Not even close. It is almost impossible to check every followers’ account to keep up to date with everything they push out. Then there are the people who seem to have absolutely nothing to do all day judging by the amount of tweets they send out (32 tweets in 5 minutes? Tsk tsk, he-who-shall-not-be-named).

So again, where do we draw the line. Personally, social media has become more and more fascinating while also becoming more and more terrifying. Really, how do we keep up with everything that is going on? There are infinite amounts of “things” out there people are talking about, but there is literally not enough time ever to keep up with all of it.

And I know this all sounds fairly hypocritical seeing as I blog, tweet, and share pictures of my lunch on Instagram, but as of late, it’s all been winding down.

I think that social media has hit its plateau. We can analyze only so much, and we can use social media to benefit our brands and lives only so much. An artist at the GALORE festival in Copenhagen, Denmark challenges our reliance on all things web social in this time-lapse video that asks the question: “When is too much simply too much?”

4 Responses to "My Disconnected Labor Day Weekend"

You are absolutely correct!

Thanks! My personal future on social media is unknown, but the limits are starting to come very apparent.

RSS was my breaking point. I keep my cellphone turned off until after 5 pm most days as well.

I never really got into RSS feeds, but I guess being a student vs. a 9-5er is different. Phone use at work is a hefty topic.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

